Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Friday - James Jolly

With James Jolly. Kabalavesky: Colas Breugnon Overture. Delibes: Lakme (excerpt). Martinu: Revue de cuisine. Walton: Cello Concerto. Arr Gallardo: Chavosuite. Bach: Ich habe genug.

This week James Jolly explores the discography of the superstar cellist, Yo-Yo Ma with a recording today of Walton's Cello Concerto, accompanied by the London Symphony Orchestra under Andre Previn. Plus, our Friday Virtuosos are the soprano Natalie Dessay and the bass-baritone Jose Van Dam performing Delibes' Ou va la jeune Hindoue (Bell Song), from Lakme, Act 2 with the Toulouse Capitole Orchestra under Michel Plasson.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Dmitri Kabalevsky

    Colas Breugnon Overture

    Performers: Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Fritz Reiner (conductor)

    • RCA 88697700732.
  • Léo Delibes

    Ou va la jeune Hindoue (Bell Song), from Lakme, Act 2

    Performers: Natalie Dessay (soprano - Lakme), Jose Van Dam (bass-baritone - Nilakantha), Toulouse Capitole Orchestra, Michel Plasson (conductor)

    • Virgin 3633322.
  • Bohuslav Martinu

    Revue de cuisine

    Performers: St Paul Chamber Orchestra, Christopher Hogwood (conductor)

    • Decca 433 660-2DH.
  • William Walton

    Cello Concerto

    Performers: Yo-Yo Ma (cello), London Symphony Orchestra, Andre Previn (conductor)

    • RCA MK39541.
  • Gallardo


    Performers: Kronos Quartet, Luna Santaolalla (voice), Gustavo Santaolalla (toys and percussion)

    • Nonesuch 7559 79649 2.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Cantata BWV 82, 'Ich habe genug'

    Performers: Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau (baritone), Munich Bach Orchestra, Karl Richter (conductor)

    • Archiv E4271282.
  • Robert Schumann

    Konzertstuck for Four Horns and Orchestra in F, op.86

    Performers: Roger Montgomery, Gavin Edwards, Susan Dent, Robert Maskell (horns), Orchestre Revolutionnaire et Romantique, John Eliot Gardiner (conductor)

    • Archiv 4575912.
  • Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    None but the Lonely Heart

    Performers: Sarah Vaughan

    • EMI CDP 795977-2.