Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Nicolas Altstaedt, Francesco Piemontesi, Escher String Quartet

Nicolas Altstaedt (cello) in Vivaldi: Sonata in E minor, RV40. Francesco Piemontesi (piano) in Schumann: Kinderszenen. Escher Quartet in Janacek: String Quartet No 2.

From Vivaldi to Janacek in a single studio: three BBC studio recordings showcasing the talents of the Radio 3 New Generation Artists. Nicolas Altstaedt performs Vivaldi's Cello Sonata in E minor RV40 (joined by harpsichordist Jonathan Cohen), Francesco Piemontesi follows with Schumann's deceptively naive Kinderszenen (or 'Scenes from Childhood') for solo piano, and the Escher String quartet concludes with Janacek's emotional roller-coaster - his String Quartet no. 2 "Intimate Letters".

Vivaldi: Sonata for E minor for cello and continuo RV40
Nicolas Altstaedt (cello)
Jonathan Cohen (harpsichord)

Schumann: Kinderszenen op. 15
Francesco Piemontesi (piano)

Janacek: String Quartet No. 2 "Intimate Letters"
Escher Quartet.

1 hour

Music Played

  • Nicolas Altstaedt

    Sonata in E minor RV.40 for cello and continuo [6 sonatas, no.5]

    Composer: Antonio VIVALDI Performer: Jonathan COHEN - Harpsichord

  • Francesco Piemontesi

    Kinderszenen Op.15 for piano

    Composer: Robert SCHUMANN

  • Escher String Quartet

    Quartet no. 2 (Intimate letters) for strings

    Composer: Leos JANACEK


Find out more about the New Generation Artists scheme

Find out more about the New Generation Artists scheme

Bringing young musicians on the threshold of international stardom to the world.