Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Prom 44 - Shostakovich, Stravinsky, Tchaikovsky

Philharmonia under Esa-Pekka Salonen. Shostakovich: The Age of Gold Suite; Violin Concerto No 1 (with Lisa Batiashvili). Stravinsky: Petrushka. Tchaikovsky: Francesca da Rimini.

With Louise Fryer

The relationship between London's Philharmonia Orchestra and Principal Conductor and Artistic Director Esa-Pekka Salonen has deepened and matured in the three seasons that they've been together. They bring the fruits of this relationship to the Proms in this all-Russian programme, including Shostakovich's 1st Violin Concerto with former Radio 3 New Generation Artist Lisa Batiashvili as soloist.

The concert begins with a four-movement suite taken from the first ballet score that Shostakovich wrote - The Age of Gold. The ballet itself was a failure - unlike the other dance work represented in this evening's concert, Petrushka. It is one of the great 20th-century ballets and its story of a puppet who comes to life elicited a colourful, masterly and hugely influential score from the young Stravinsky. The final music on the programme is by one of Stravinsky's heroes, Tchaikovsky. His special brand of passion, energy and lyricism is a perfect match for the story of Francesca da Rimini - the heroine of a murderous tale from Dante's Divine Comedy.

Presented by Katie Derham

Shostakovich: The Age of Gold - Suite
Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor
Stravinsky: Petrushka (1947 version)
Tchaikovsky: Francesca da Rimini

Lisa Batiashvili (violin)
Philharmonia Orchestra
Esa-Pekka Salonen (conductor).

2 hours, 10 minutes

Music Played

  • Prom 44: Philharmonia Orchestra

    • Dmitry Shostakovich

      The Age of gold - suite from the ballet Op.22a

      Conductor: Esa-Pekka SALONEN Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra

    • Dmitry Shostakovich

      Concerto no. 1 in A minor Op.77 for violin and orchestra

      Conductor: Esa-Pekka SALONEN Performer: Lisa BATIASHVILI - Violin Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra

    • Igor Stravinsky


      Conductor: Esa-Pekka SALONEN Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra

    • Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

      Francesca da Rimini - symphonic fantasia after Dante Op.32

      Conductor: Esa-Pekka SALONEN Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra