Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC National Orchestra of Wales - Sibelius, Prokofiev, Dvorak

Thomas Sondergard conducts the BBC National Orchestra of Wales. Sibelius: En saga. Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No 1 (soloist: Baiba Skride). Dvorak: New World Symphony.

Live from Hoddinott Hall, Cardiff

Presented by Catrin Finch

Thomas Søndergård conducts the BBC NOW in a concert of great romantic masterworks spanning continents, ranging from the dark brooding Finnish legends of Sibelius's En Saga to the wide-eyed cheerfulness of Dvořâk's New World Symphony - a hymn to the energy and optimism of an emerging nation. Prokofiev's First Violin Concerto, played by the acclaimed Latvian violinist Baiba Skride, is suffused with a direct simplicity and fairy-tale sense of fantasy that puts it amongst the most loved of his works.

Sibelius: En saga
Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No 1

8.20; Interval

Dvorak: Symphony No 9 'From the New World'
Baiba Skride, Violin
Conducted by Thomas Søndergård.

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.