Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Philharmonic - Schubert, Mozart, Haydn

The BBC Philharmonic live from MediaCity, Salford. Schubert: Overture (Die Freunde von Salamanka). Haydn: Symphony No 84. Mozart: Piano Concerto No 24. Haydn: Symphony No 47.

Presented by Stuart Flinders

Live from MediaCity in Salford Quays.

The BBC Philharmonic live in concert from its new home at MediaCity in Salford Quays. They perform music by Schubert, Mozart and two of Haydn's irrepressibly witty symphonies. No.84 is a highlight of the set composed for Paris, and No.47, features a reversible minuet which can be danced forwards or backwards!
During the interval we will hear recordings from tonight's soloist Llyr Williams.

Schubert: Overture, Die Freunde von Salamanka
Haydn: Symphony No. 84 in E flat

8.10 Interval music

Mozart: Piano Concerto No.24 in C minor (K 491)
Haydn: Symphony No.47 in G

BBC Philharmonic
Antonello Manacorda: conductor
Llyr Williams: piano.

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.