Main content
This programme is not currently available on BBC iPlayer

Troubadours: The Rise of the Singer-Songwriter

Documentary about the 1970s singer-songwriter culture in LA, focusing on the backgrounds and emerging collaboration between James Taylor, Carole King and the Troubadour venue.

Morgan Neville's full-length documentary is James Taylor and Carole King's first-hand account of the genesis and blossoming of the 1970s singer-songwriter culture in LA, focusing on the backgrounds and emerging collaboration between Taylor, King and the Troubadour, the famed West Hollywood club that nurtured a community of gifted young artists and singer-songwriters.

Taylor and King first performed together at the Troubadour in November 1970, and the film explores their coming together and the growth of a new, personal voice in songwriting pioneered by a small group of fledgling artists around the club. Contributors include Taylor, King, David Crosby, Roger McGuinn, Jackson Browne, Bonnie Raitt, Kris Kristofferson, JD Souther, Peter Asher, Cheech & Chong, Steve Martin and Elton John.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sat 10 Dec 2016 02:00

Music Played

Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes

  • 00:00


    Kick Out the Jams 

  • 00:00

    James Taylor & Carole King


  • 00:03

    Tom Rush

    Mole's Moan 

  • 00:05

    James Taylor

    Something in the Way She Moves 

  • 00:09

    The Valiants & Bob Schmidt

    Dilemma in 315 

  • 00:11

    The Shirelles

    Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow 

  • 00:13

    The Flying Machine

    Night Owl 

  • 00:16

    James Taylor

    Carolina in My Mind

  • 00:16

    James Taylor

    California (Instrumental) 

  • 00:17

    James Taylor

    Fire & Rain 

  • 00:19

    Joni Mitchell


  • Michael Patterson

    Leave This Behind 

  • 00:21

    Carole King

    You Make Me Feel Like a Natural Woman

  • 00:25

    Michael Patterson

    The Tree 

  • 00:26

    Bonnie Raitt

    Give It Up Or Let Me Go 

  • 00:28

    Steve Martin

    Simple Gifts 

  • 00:30

    Jackson Browne

    These Days 

  • 00:32

    Jackson Browne

    I Want You 

  • 00:33

    The City

    That Old Sweet Roll (Hi De Ho) 

  • 00:36

    James Taylor

    Sweet Baby James 

  • 00:41

    Carole King


  • 00:43

    Carole King

    I Feel the Earth Move 

  • 00:46

    Troubadour Reunion Band 


  • 00:50

    Elton John

    Take Me to the Pilot 

  • 00:52

    The Tremblers

    Need Some Love Baby 

  • 00:57

    Carole King

    So Far Away 

  • 01:01


    Take It Easy 

  • 01:05

    James Taylor

    Country Road 

  • 01:06

    Craig Doerge

    Running on Empty 

  • 01:09

    Bonnie Raitt

    Too Long At the Fair 

  • 01:12

    The Tremblers

    Rise of the Roxy 

  • 01:14

    Carole King

    Way Over Yonder 

  • 01:17

    James Taylor & Carole King

    You Can Close Your Eyes 

  • 01:19

    Donny Hathaway

    You've Got a Friend 

  • 01:21

    James Taylor & Carole King

    Your Smiling Face 


Role Contributor
Director Morgan Neville
Producer Eddie Schmidt