Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Tuesday - Sarah Walker

With Sarah Walker. Herold: Overture (Zampa). Grieg: Lyric Pieces (excerpts). Vivaldi: Concerto, RV428. Beethoven: Symphony No 1. Anon: Danza del hacha. Glinka: Septet in E flat.

With Sarah Walker. Sarah's Artist of the Week is the pianist Leif Ove Andsnes, who was born in Karmoy, Norway in 1970, and studied at the Bergen Music Conservatory under the renowned Czech professor Jiri Hlinka. Andsnes cites Dinu Lipatti, Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli, Sviatoslav Richter, and Geza Anda among the pianists who have most inspired him. He has been nominated for seven Grammys and awarded many international prizes, including five Gramophone Awards and the Royal Philharmonic Society's Instrumentalist Award.

We hear him today perform Grieg's Lyric Pieces at Grieg's villa in Troldhaugen, Norway, and Schumann's Piano Concerto in A minor.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Ferdinand Hérold

    Zampa: Overture

    Performers: Detroit Symphony Orchestra, Paul Paray (conductor)

    • MERCURY 432 014-2.
  • Artist of the Week: Leif Ove Andsnes

    • Edvard Grieg

      Lyric Pieces: Arietta Op.12 No.1; At Your Feet Op.68 No.3

      Performers: Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

      • EMI 557296-2.
  • Antonio Vivaldi

    Concerto in D major, RV 428 [aka Op.10 No.3] Il Gardellino [The Goldfinch]

    Performers: Eckart Haupt (flute), Dresden Baroque Soloists, Peter Schreier (conductor)

    • Berlin Classics 1352BC.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Symphony No.1 in C major, Op.21

    Performers: Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Nikolaus Harnoncourt (conductor)

    • TELDEC 0927 49768-2.
  • Anon.

    Danza del Hacha

    Performers: Hesperion XXI, Jordi Savall (director)

    • Alia Vox AV9834.
  • Mikhail Ivanovich Glinka

    Septet in E flat major (1823)

    Performers: Russian National Symphony Orchestra Soloists

    • REGIS RRC 1288.
  • Artist of the Week: Leif Ove Andsnes

    • Robert Schumann

      Piano Concerto in A minor, Op.54

      Performers: Leif Ove Andsnes (piano), Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Mariss Jansons (conductor)

      • EMI 5575622.