Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

20/06/2011 Jean-Guihen Queyras, Academy of Ancient Music, Elizabeth Watts

Presented by Sean Rafferty. With conversation from cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras and John Bridcut, plus music from the Academy of Ancient Music, Richard Egarr and Elizabeth Watts.

Cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras will perform Britten's cello works live at the Aldeburgh Festival on Britten-Rostropovich Day, which also sees the World Premiere of a documentary by director and author John Bridcut 'Rostropovich: The Genius of the Cello'.

Members of the Academy of Ancient Music perform live in the In Tune studio with harpsichordist and director Richard Egarr, 2011 Borletti-Buitoni Trust Award winner soprano Elizabeth Watts and mezzo-soprano Daniela Lehner. They will be performing at the Barbican Centre, London in a production of Mozart's opera 'La Finta Giardiniera'.

Presented by Sean Rafferty.
With a selection of music and guests from the music world.
Main news headlines are at 5.00 and 6.00

2 hours

Music Played

  • John Dowland

    Come Again: Sweet Love Doth Now Invite

    Performer: Danielle De Niese (soprano) Performer: The English Concert Performer: Harry Bickett (conductor)

    • Decca 4782260.
  • Francisco Tárrega

    Lágrima (tear)

    Performer: Milos Karadaglic, guitar

    • Deutsche Grammophon 4779693.
  • Benjamin Britten

    Cello Suite No. 1, Op. 72 Canto primo, first movement

    Performer: Mstislav Rostropovich, cello

    • EMI – 2 27925 2.
  • Benjamin Britten

    Scherzo, third movement, Cello Suite No. 2, Op. 80

    Performer: Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello

    • HARMONIA MUNDI – HMN 911670.
  • Benjamin Britten

    Passacaglia, fourth movement. Cello Symphony

    Performer: Mstislav Rostropovich, cello Performer: Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra Performer: Benjamin Britten, conductor

    • EMI 2 27925 2.
  • Michael Praetorius

    Gloria from Christmas Mass

    Performer: Gabrieli Consort and Players Performer: Paul McCreesh, director

    • ARCHIV 439 250-2.
  • Johann Georg Albrechtsberger

    Allegro, first movement, Harp Concerto in C

    Performer: Elizabeth Hainen, harp Performer: Bulgarian National Orchestra Performer: Rossen Milanov, conductor

    • AVIE AV 2221.
  • Richard Wagner - Wotan's Farewell and Magic Fire Music from Die Walkure

    Performer: London Philharmonic Orchestra Performer: Klaus Tennstedt, conductor

  • LIVE

    • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

      First aria from La Finta Giardiniera 'Se l'augelin sen fugge'

      Performer: Daniela Lehner, mezzo-soprano Performer: Richard Egarr, harpsichord Performer: Members of the Academy of Ancient Music

    • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

      Sonata No.6 in D major K284

      Performer: Richard Egarr (solo harpsichord)

    • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

      Tenth Aria from La Finta Giardiniera 'Appena mi vedon'

      Performer: Elizabeth Watts, soprano Performer: Members of the Academy of Ancient Music Performer: Richard Egarr, harpsichord

  • John Barry

    Dance with Wolves, main title

    Performer: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Performer: John Barry (conductor)

    • MOVIOLA 472490 2.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Let thy hand be strengthened, Coronation Anthem

    Performer: Choir of King’s College, Cambridge Performer: The Academy of Ancient Music Performer: Stephen Cleobury

    • EMI 5 57140 2.
  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Vivace, first movement from Piano Concerto No. 1 Op. 1

    Performer: Simon Trpecski, piano Performer: Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Performer: Vasily Petrenko, conductor

    • AVIE 2191.
  • Evelyn Glennie

    A Little Prayer

    Performer: Evelyn Glennie, marimba

    • BMG 74321 47629 2.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios