Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

The City of Bologna

Catherine Bott presents music written in the city of Bologna, including works by Perti, Torelli, Banchieri, Bononcini, Martini and Myslivecek.

Catherine Bott presents a programme of music written in the city of Bologna - the capital city of the Emilia-Romagna region, which is situated in the Po Valley between Po river and the Apennine Mountains. It's home to the oldest university in the world, founded in 1088 and is one of the richest cities in Italy, not only financially but also in terms of its rich history in the arts, culture and cuisine. It has been a hive of musical activity since the 15th century, and this programme features music by some of its most famous sons, including Giacomo Perti, Giuseppe Torelli, Adriano Banchieri, Giovanni Bononcini, Padre Giovanni Martini and Josef Myslivecek.

1 hour

Music Played

  • Jacopo da Bologna

    Non al suo amante

    Performers: Judith Malafronte (mezzo-soprano), Kevin Mason (lute)

    • HMU 907 038.
  • Adriano Banchieri


    Performer: Rinaldo Alessandrini (organ)

    • OPUS 111.
    • OPS 30-125.
  • Adriano Banchieri

    Barca di Venetia per Padova (Nos.1-2)

    Performers: Ensemble Clement Janequin

    • HMC 901281.
  • Giacomo Perti

    Cantata, Op.1 No.4: "La notte illuminata"

    Performers: Carlo Lepore (bass), Solisti della Capella musicale di San Petronio, Sergio Vartolo (director)

    • GB 5061/62-2.
  • Giuseppe Torelli

    Concerto grosso for violin in F major, Op.8 No.11

    Performers: Simon Standage (violin & director), Collegium Musicum 90

    • CHANDOS.
    • CHAN 0716.
  • Giovanni Battista Bononcini

    Per te, mio solo bene; Viva, viva? [from 'Griselda']

    Performers: Lauris Elms (Griselda), Ambrosian Singers, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Richard Bonynge (conductor)

    • DECCA.
    • 448 977-2.
  • Giovanni Battista Martini

    Dies Irae & Offertorio from the Requiem

    Performers: Elena Sartori (organ/director), Melodi Cantores

    • TACTUS.
    • TC 701306.
  • Josef Myslivecek

    3rd movement (Allegro non troppo presto) from String Quintet No.3 in C major

    Performers: Pro arte antiqua Praha

    • ARTA.
    • F1 0071-2.