Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

From the Wigmore Hall, London, Martin Handley presents a concert by pianist Stephen Hough and the Takacs Quartet. Haydn: Quartet in D, Op 71 No 2. Beethoven: Quartet in F, Op 135.

Live from the Wigmore Hall

Presented by Martin Handley

The Takács Quartet are joined by pianist Stephen Hough for the first of Wigmore Hall's 110th Anniversary Gala Concerts, featuring one of today's most popular pianists with one of the world's pre-eminent String Quartets.
Haydn's D major work was one of his first to be written for public performance in London and is followed here by the last of Beethoven's masterpieces of the genre. And Stephen Hough joins the Takács Quartet
for Dvorak's sunny Piano Quintet.

Haydn Quartet in D Op. 71 No. 2
Beethoven Quartet in F Op 135.

1 hour

Last on

Tue 31 May 2011 19:00


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.