Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

MacMillan, Maxwell Davies, Shostakovich

As part of a series of concerts given at West Road Concert Hall in Cambridge, the Britten Sinfonia perform James MacMillan, Shostakovich and a new work by Peter Maxwell Davies.

The Award Winning "Britten Sinfonia at Lunch" series of concerts from Cambridge starts this year with a focus on composer James MacMillan who has chosen a piano quintet by Shostakovich and a new work by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies to stand alongside music of his own.

James MacMillan: For Max
James MacMillan: 25th May 1967
James MacMillan: Walfrid, On His Arrival at The Gates of Paradise
James MacMillan: For Sally
Peter Maxwell Davies: Nocturne No 1 (World Premiere tour)
Shostakovich: Piano Quintet in G minor

Members of Britten Sinfonia:

Jacqueline Shave, Miranda Dale (violins)
Martin Outram (viola)
Caroline Dearnley (cello)
Huw Watkins (piano).

1 hour

Last on

Tue 31 May 2011 13:00