Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Mark in conversation with Kate Bush

Mark talks to Kate Bush to mark the release of her new album The Director's Cut.

With Kate's new album, "The Director's Cut", she's gone back and re-mixed and re-worked a selection of some of her older material. Sometimes that means a new vocal track, or new instrumentation, or in the case of "Flowers Of The Mountain" a whole new lyric. Originally Kate had wanted to use extracts from James Joyce's "Ulysses" for the lyric, but was denied permission from his estate, so Kate wrote her own lyric, and this became "The Sensual World". Since then, the James Joyce estate has had a change of heart and allowed her to use Joyce's words, which now means the track is exactly how she wanted it to be. So the explanation for the re-working of "Flowers Of The Mountain" makes sense... but Mark also asks her why she decided to re-make so many other chunks of her back catalogue? What did she think was wrong with all this music that so many other people find incomparable?

3 hours

Music Played

  • Heaven 17

    (We Don't Need This) Fascist Groove Thang

  • Arctic Monkeys

    Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair

  • Bob Marley & The Wailers

    Roots Rock Reggae

  • Be Bop Deluxe

    Adventures In A Yorkshire Landscape (Chain)

  • Colourmusic


  • The Beatles

    I Am The Walrus

  • Lykke Li

    Sadness Is A Blessing

  • The Creatures

    Miss The Girl

  • Fleet Foxes


  • De La Soul

    Me Myself And I

  • My Morning Jacket

    Holding On To Black Metal

  • Ian Dury & The Blockheads

    Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick

  • Groove Armada

    I See You Baby (Chain)

  • Turn Pike Glow


  • Sandi Sheldon

    You're Gonna Make Me Love You

  • The Wonder Stuff

    Size Of A Cow

  • Kate Bush

    Them Heavy People

  • Kate Bush

    Flower Of The Mountain

  • Foster the People - Pumped Up Kicks

  • David Bowie

    Diamond Dogs

  • Lee Dorsey

    Ride Your Pony (Chain)

  • Franz Ferdinand

    Eleanor Put Your Boots On

  • Gruff Rhys

    Honey All Over

  • The Strokes

    Taken For A Fool

  • Turin Brakes

    Pain Killer

  • The B‐52s


  • Florence + the Machine

    Dog Days Are Over

  • Cloud Control

    Gold Canary

  • Steel Pulse

    Prodigal Son