Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Walter Weller and the CBSO at Symphony Hall, Birmingham

Petroc Trelawny presents a concert in which Walter Weller leads the CBSO. Brahms: Piano Concerto No 1 in D minor (soloist Dejan Lazic). Schubert: Symphony No 9 in C (Great).

Live from the Symphony Hall, Birmingham
Presented by Petroc Trelawny.

Two major works in tonight's concert: Brahms's 1st piano concerto, a youthful but powerfully virtuosic work - Brahms called the slow adagio movement a 'gentle portrait' of Clara Schumann with whom he was in love; and after the interval Schubert's lyrical C major Symphony, the 'Great'. The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra is conducted by Viennese maestro Walter Weller, and joined in the Brahms piano concerto by Croatian pianist Dejan Lazic.

Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op 15

8.10 Interval music
Petroc Trelawny introduces recordings by tonight's soloist Dejan Lazic.

8.30 Part Two
Schubert: Symphony No. 9, the 'Great' C major

Dejan Lazic (piano)
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
Walter Weller (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.