Main content

The Golden Three

Lucie Skeaping presents music from the 18th century Russian imperial court, including chamber music and choruses by the so-called Golden Three - Berezovsky, Bortniansky and Vedel.

Music at the Russian Imperial Court in the mid 18th century was largely provided by itinerant Italian masters like Paisiello, Galuppi & Manfredini, but by the end of the century a group of three talented Ukrainians began to take St Petersburg by storm. Maxim Berezovsky, Artemy Vedel and Dimitri Bortniansky became known as The Golden Three, and provided four successive monarchs with chamber music, choruses and operatic entertainments. Lucie Skeaping looks at the lives and music of these three, now uncelebrated composers, alongside the music of some of their western European teachers.

Available now

21 minutes

Last on

Sun 21 Aug 2011 00:00

Music Played

  • Artemy Vedel

    May our mouths be filled with praise

    Performers: Dumka Choir

    • SUCD 10-00282.
  • Vincenzo Manfredini

    Concerto for harpsichord, 2 oboes & strings in B flat [1st movement]

    Performers: Musica Petropolitana

    • OPUS 111.
    • 30-231.
  • Baldassare Galuppi

    Benché giusto a vendicarmi (from 'Antigono')

    Performers: Catherine King (mezzo-soprano), Il Canto di Orfeo, Gianluca Capuano (director)

    • AVIE.
    • AV 2116.
  • Dmitry Bortniansky

    Concert 105 (Psalm 112)

    Performers: Yourlov Academy Choir, Stanislav Goussev (director)

    • CDM LDC 288 041.
  • Максим Созонтович Березовский

    Violin Sonata in C major

    Performers: Andrei Reshetin (violin), Dmitri Sokolov (cello), Irini Shneyerova (violin)

    • OPUS 111.
    • 30-231.
  • Максим Созонтович Березовский

    Sacred Concerto: Cast me not off in the time of my old age

    Performers: Joyful Company of Singers, Peter Broadbent (conductor)

    • CDE 84257.
  • Artemy Vedel

    Peaceful Light

    Performers: Yourlov Academic Choir, Stanislav Goussev (conductor)

    • CDM 288 094.
  • Dmitry Bortniansky

    Quintet for violin, viola, cello, harp & piano (3rd movement)

    Performers: Moscow Ancient Music Ensemble

    • Mezhdunarodnaya Kniga.
    • MK 417119.