Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Citroen UXB

Episode 1 of 6

Zimbabwean care worker Beauty Oolonga continues to tend to the cauliflower cheese-eating elderly population of Britain. From April 2011.

No professional care-worker can afford to miss Beauty Olonga's survival guide to Britain - its overheated houses, its disappointing church services and its world-class charity shops. Series 2 of this Radio 4 comedy follows Beauty's continuing adventures as the Featherdown Agency sends her to provide care for those who need it - and some who don't, but all of whom have relatives with guilty consciences.

Beauty sees herself as an inspiration to other African girls hoping to live the dream in Britain. 'There are plenty of opportunities here. The professional classes are always off sick due to binge drinking and the rest are too lazy to get off the couch to answer the pizza delivery man.'

The series breaks the embarrassed silence about what happens to us when we get old and start to lose our faculties. It shows the process in all its chaotic, tragi-comedy but it does so from the point of view of a migrant worker, Beauty, whose Zimbabwean Shona background has taught her to respect age. Beauty sees Britain at its best, its worst and also sometimes without its clothes on running the wrong way down the M6 with a toy dog shouting 'Come on!'

In episode one, Beauty is sent to look after Sarah, who lives with both her mother and daughter. A perfect, happy modern family, like the kind Beauty has seen in feel-good British movies. With her own family being very demanding, it is understandable when Beauty begins to get too close.

Episode 1 'Citroen UXB'

Beauty... Jocelyn Jee Esien
Joyce ... Julia McKenzie
Sarah ... Jenny Agutter
Lucy ... Catherine Shepherd
Sally ... Felicity Montagu
Karen ... Nicola Sanderson

The music for the series was provided by The West End Gospel Choir.
Written by Christopher Douglas and Nicola Sanderson
The producer is Tilusha Ghelani.

30 minutes

Last on

Sat 23 Mar 2019 23:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Beauty of Britain


  • Wed 6 Apr 2011 11:30
  • Tue 1 Jul 2014 07:30
  • Tue 1 Jul 2014 22:00
  • Wed 2 Dec 2015 23:00
  • Sun 6 Aug 2017 23:30
  • Sat 23 Mar 2019 23:00