Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 4

Katie Derham concludes a series featuring Beethoven symphonies - with No 8 in F and No 9 in D minor. Plus music by Mendelssohn, Bach, Haydn, Rufinatscha and Ponchielli.

Katie Derham concludes a week including works by Bach and the Beethoven Symphonies; plus music by Haydn and Mendelssohn.

Beethoven: Symphony No 8 in F
BBC Scottish Symphony
Ilan Volkov (conductor)

Mendelssohn: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Ilan Volkov (conductor)

Bach: Cantata No 159 "Sehet wir geh'n hinauf gen Jerusalem"
Tove Dahlberg (mezzo)
Nicholas Mulroy (tenor)
Halvor Festervoll Melien (bass)
Manchester Chamber Choir
BBC Philharmonic
Nicholas Kraemer (director)

Haydn: Symphony No. 101 in D major "Clock"
BBC National Orchestra of Wales,
Nicholas Kraemer (conductor)

Johann Rufinatscha: Overture: Die Braut von Messina
BBC Philharmonic
Gianandrea Noseda (conductor)

Ponchielli: Dance of the Hours (from La Gioconda)
BBC Philharmonic
Gianandrea Noseda (conductor)

Beethoven: Symphony No 9 in D minor
Hillevi Martinpelto (soprano)
Jane Irwin (mezzo)
Paul Nilon (tenor)
Iain Paterson (bass)
Sheffield Philharmonic Chorus
BBC Philharmonic
Gianandrea Noseda (conductor).

3 hours

Last on

Fri 25 Mar 2011 14:00

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert