Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Symphony Orchestra - Rachmaninov, Walton

Presented by Petroc Trelawny, from the Barbican, London. Semyon Bychkov conducts the BBC Symphony Orchestra in Rachmaninov's The Bells and Walton's Symphony No 1.

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

The BBC Symphony Orchestra continues its 80th anniversary season with two large-scale symphonic works. At the helm is Semyon Bychkov, a conductor much in demand worldwide. Konstantin Balmont's translation of Poe's The Bells inspired Rachmaninov to create one of his finest works, a scintillating 'choral symphony' first performed in 1913. The complete version of Walton's First Symphony, meanwhile, was introduced to the world by the BBC Symphony Orchestra in 1935. The troubled emotions in Walton's life at that time are reflected in the turbulence of the piece, before it reaches a jubilant conclusion.

Rachmaninov: The Bells
Walton: Symphony no.1 in B flat minor

Viktoria Yastrebova, soprano
Frank Lopardo, tenor
David Wilson Johnson, baritone
BBC Symphony Orchestra
BBC Symphony Chorus
Semyon Bychkov, conductor

Followed by a performance by the Arcanto Quartet, from a concert at Wigmore Hall, London:

Britten: String Quartet no.2.

2 hours, 15 minutes