Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available


Presented by Martin Handley, from the Barbican in London. Kazuki Yamada conducts the BBC Symphony Orchestra in a performance of Rachmaninov's Symphony No 2 in E minor.

Live from London's Barbican Centre
Presented by Martin Handley
Kazuki Yamada, winner of the 2009 Besançon Conducting Competition, makes his much anticipated BBC Symphony Orchestra Barbican debut with a strikingly imaginative combination of works spanning just over a century of music. The 30-year-old's programme opens with Takemitsu's Requiem for string orchestra (1957) and includes the UK premiere of Thomas Larcher's beautiful Violin Concerto, written for Isabelle Faust and first performed by her in 2009.

Rachmaninov Symphony no. 2 in E minor

Isabelle Faust (violin), BBC Symphony Orchestra, Kazuki Yamada (conductor).

1 hour, 20 minutes

Last on

Fri 4 Mar 2011 19:55

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Performance on 3