Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Brian Ferneyhough - Total Immersion

The BBC Symphony Orchestra and BBC Singers under Martyn Brabbins perform music by Brian Ferneyhough: La terre est un jomme; Carceri d'Invenzione III; Missa Brevis; Plotzlichkeit.

A concert given earlier today at the BBC Symphony Orchestra's Total Immersion day devoted to the music of Brian Ferneyhough. Presenter Ivan Hewett is joined by Tom Service, who reports on the day's events.

Ferneyhough: Second String Quartet
Quatuor Diotima

Ferneyhough: Plötzlichkeit (UK premiere)
BBC SO, BBC Singers,
Martyn Brabbins (conductor)

Ferneyhough: Carceri d'Invenzione III
Martyn Brabbins (conductor)

Ferneyhough: Missa Brevis
BBC Singers, James Morgan (conductor)

Ferneyhough: La Terre est un Homme
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Martyn Brabbins (conductor)

This concert spans the broad gamut of
Ferneyhough's fertile invention, from the Missa Brevis for 12 solo singers of 1969 to the UK premiere of Plötzlichkeit , a 20-minute masterpiece for large orchestra. The programme also includes a rare chance to hear the third part of his Carceri d'Invenzione cycle, a seminal work of the 1980s inspired by Piranesi's etchings of imagined dungeons and infernal places of imprisonment. Discover the multiform artistic influences and ideas behind the work of a composer who represents the antithesis of the predictable, the enemy of the routine.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sat 26 Feb 2011 22:30


Sound of the Week

Sound of the Week

Composers reveal the sounds that have captured their imaginations and inspired new music.

Stockhausen’s Gruppen – What’s the Big Deal?

Stockhausen’s Gruppen – What’s the Big Deal?

A user-friendly guide to a masterpiece of music’s post-War avant-garde.

Pioneering Sound

Pioneering Sound

Listen to Radio 3 broadcasts which break technological boundaries in sound.