Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 1

The Pavel Haas Quartet are named after a young Czech composer who was interned by the Nazis in the the infamous "Theresienstadt" concentration camp. The Pavel Haas Quartet took part in the BBC's New Generation Artist Scheme and are now based in Prague, from where they are much in demand worldwide, and they have built a reputation for the highest level of quartet playing.

Last November the quartet played four concerts at LSO St. Luke's in London, and this, the first of them pairs two works by their countryman Dvorak - the best known of his quartets - the "American" and the string quintet - also written on that same American trip.

In the String Quintet, the additional viola is Krzystof Chorzelski who is the viola player with the Belcea Quartet.

The quartet members are: violinists Veronika Jaruskova & Eva Karova, viola player Pavel Nikl and cellist Krzystof Jarusek

The performances are presented by Penny Gore

Dvorak -
Quartet No.12 in F major (Op.96) "American"
String Quintet No.3 in E flat major (Op.97).

Release date:

1 hour

Last on

Tue 8 Feb 2011 13:00