Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available


Presented by Petroc Trelawny, from the Barbican, London. The BBC Symphony Orchestra's concert under chief conductor Jiri Belohlavek concludes with Prokofiev's Sixth Symphony.

Presented by Petroc Trelawny live from the Barbican, London

Moscow-born Alexei Ogrintchouk's cuttings book includes superlative reviews and details of a glittering solo and orchestral career. He joins the BBC Symphony Orchestra and its Chief Conductor to give the premiere of a new Oboe Concerto by Marc-André Dalbavie, explorer of 'spectral music' and discoverer of breathtaking realms of sound. Premiered in 1947 as Russia was reeling from the after effects of the Second World War, Prokofiev's 6th Symphony is widely regarded as his masterpiece.

PROKOFIEV: Symphony No 6 in E flat minor

Alexei Ogrintchouk, oboe
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Jiri Belohlávek, conductor.

1 hour, 20 minutes

Last on

Fri 17 Dec 2010 19:55

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Performance on 3