Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Singers

Christopher Cook presents the BBC Singers under Robert Hollingworth in a conert from St George's Church in Campden Hill, London. Plus the Ulster Orchestra in music by Martinu.

The BBC Singers in concert - "A Winter Journey", live from St George's Church in Campden Hill, London, conducted by Robert Hollingworth.

Presented by Christopher Cook.

Peter Warlock: Corpus Christi
Bo Holten: First Snow
Thomas Ades: The Fayrfax Carol
Francis Poulenc: Soir de Neige
Herbert Howells: Inheritance
Richard Rodney Bennett: In the bleak midwinter (first performance)
Adrian Williams: Silent night (first performance)
Edward Hughes: Sun, New Moon and Women shouting (broadcast premiere)

Penny Gore presents more words and music about chess, as part of Radio 3's Checkmate theme.

Miguel de Unamuno: reading from "The Novel of Don Sandalio, Chessplayer"

Martinu: Echec au Roi (ballet)
Ulster Orchestra
John Lubbock (conductor).

2 hours