Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

RSNO - Saariaho, Rachmaninov, Nielsen

Thomas Sondergard conducts the Royal Scottish National Orchestra. Saariaho: Orion. Rachmaninov: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (Dejan Lazic - piano). Nielsen: Symphony No 4.

Presented by Ian Skelly

The Royal Scottish National Orchestra perform one of Nielsen's greatest symphonies, with the young Danish conductor, Thomas Sondergard, who made his debut with the orchestra last year.

The concert opens with Orion by Kaija Saariaho, a work which explores myth and mystery, and forms part of the RSNO's exploration of works completed in the last 10 years. Rachmaninov's famous Rhapsody, while always considered a showpiece is just as much a final, exuberant piano concerto.

Music is life", declared Carl Nielsen "and like it, inextinguishable!" And then, in the darkest months of the First World War, he proved it with his tremendous Fourth Symphony. From volcanic opening to unstoppable finish, this is music that leaves you thrilled to be alive.

Saariaho: Orion
Rachmaninov: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
Nielsen: Symphony No.4 'Inextinguishable'

Royal Scottish National Orchestra
Dejan Lazic (piano)
conductor Thomas Sondergard.

2 hours