Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Monday - Sean Rafferty

Sean Rafferty is joined by pianist Helene Grimaud, to discuss her recital at the Royal Festival Hall, London.

Main news headlines are at 5.00 and 6.00

2 hours

Music Played

  • Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    The Nutcracker: Chinese Dance; Russian Dance

    Performer: Berlin Philharmonic Performer: Simon Rattle (conductor)

    • EMI 6316212.
  • Anon

    Hymn: Benedictus est

    Performer: Benedictine Nuns of Notre-Dame de l’Annonciation, Avignon

    • Decca 2748264.
  • Benjamin Britten

    Philip's Breeches

    Performer: BBC Singers Performer: Bob Chilcott (conductor)

    • CBS M2K79310.
  • LIVE

    • Benjamin Britten

      Allegro (world premiere)

      Performer: Tom Poster (piano)

    • Benjamin Britten

      Two Pieces: Going Downhill on a Bicycle (British premiere); The Moon (world premiere)

      Performer: Jennifer Pike (violin) Performer: Tom Poster (piano)

  • Benjamin Britten

    Three Divertimenti

    Performer: Elias String Quartet

    • Sonimage SON10903.
  • Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    March slave

    Performer: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Performer: Daniel Barenboim (conductor)

    • DG 4316082.
  • George Frideric Handel

    March from An Ode for St Cecilia's Day

    Performer: Carolyn Sampson (soprano) Performer: James Gilchrist (tenor) Performer: Choir of the King’s Consort Performer: Robert King (conductor)

    • Hyperion CDA67463.
  • Howells

    Take him, Earth, for cherishing

    Performer: Choir of King’s College, Cambridge Performer: Stephen Cleobury (conductor)

    • Argo 4302052.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Sonata in A minor, K.310: i) Allegro maestoso

    Performer: Helene Grimaud (piano)

    • DG 4778766.
  • Franz Liszt

    Sonata in B minor (extract)

    Performer: Helene Grimaud

    • DG 4778766.
  • Béla Bartók - 6 Romanian Folk Dances

    Performer: Helene Grimaud (piano)

  • James Rhodes

    Rhapsody for alto saxophone and orchestra, L.98

    Performer: Theodore Kerkezos (saxophone) Performer: London Symphony Orchestra Performer: Yuri Simonov (conductor)

    • Onyx 4065.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Toccatta and Fugue in D minor BWV565

    Performer: Christopher Herrick (organ)

    • Hyperion CDA30004.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios