Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available


Fiona Talkington makes her pick from listeners' letters and emails with music by Rossini, Mozart and Vaughan Williams, plus a tribute to the late John Dankworth.

Fiona Talkington makes her pick from listeners' letters and emails, beginning with a farewell to evening sunshine from Arthur Sullivan. There's also a tribute to John Dankworth, birthday greetings for Arvo Pärt, Janácek's spectacular Sinfonietta and Arnold Schoenberg's orchestral reworking of the Piano Quartet by his hero Johannes Brahms.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Sullivan

    The Long Day Closes

    Performer: Laudibus, Michael Brewer (conductor)

    • HYPERION CDA67076.
    • 24.
  • Gioachino Rossini

    Duetto buffo di gatti (Cats' Duet)

    Performer: Felicity Lott (soprano), Ann Murray (mezzo), Graham Johnson (piano)

    • EMI CDC7544112.
    • 15.
  • Leos Janáček


    Performer: City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Simon Rattle (conductor)

    • EMI CDM 566 908 02.
    • 9 to 13.
  • John Dankworth - Picture of Jeannie

    Performer: Emma Johnson (clarinet), John Lenehan (piano)

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Vesperae solennes de confessore KV339 – Magnificat

    Performer: Cornelia Samuelis (soprano), Ursula Eittinger (contralto), Benoît Haller (tenor), Markus Flaig (bass), Cologne Chamber Choir, Collegium Cartusianum, Peter Neumann (conductor)

    • MD&G MDG33213462.
    • 6.
  • Arvo Pärt

    Für Alina

    Performer: David Arden (piano)

    • KOCH 373012.
    • 1.
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams

    Concerto for Bass Tuba and Orchestra

    Performer: Peter Whish-Wilson (tuba), Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, David Stanhope (conductor)

    • ABC 476 5251.
    • 1 to 3.
  • Richard Strauss

    'Morgen', Op.27 No 4

    Performer: Barbara Bonney (soprano), Malcolm Martineau (piano)

    • DECCA 4688182.
    • 14.
  • Ronald Corp

    Pembroke Bay from Guernsey Postcards

    Performer: Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Ronald Corp (conductor)

    • Dutton Epoch CDLX 7233.
    • 2.
  • Brahms transcr. Schöenberg

    Piano Quartet No 1 in G minor Op 25

    Performer: Norrköping Symphony Orchestra, Lü Jia (conductor)

    • BIS CD 1140.
    • 1 to 4.