Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 1

Katie Derham celebrates the New York Philharmonic. Ravel: Ma mere l'oye. Bartok: The Wooden Prince. Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 2 (Yefim Bronffman). Rachmaninov: Symphony No 2.

This week Afternoon on Three brings you the best seat in the house at the Avery Fisher Hall in the Lincoln Center, New York, with a week of concerts from the New York Philharmonic.

Founded in 1842 , the New York Philharmonic is the oldest symphony orchestra in the United States, and one of the oldest in the world. It currently plays some 180 concerts a year, and on May 5, 2010, gave its 15,000th concert - a milestone unmatched by any other symphony orchestra in the world.

Presented by Katie Derham.

Ravel : Ma mère l'Oye (Mother Goose) Suite
New York Philharmonic
David Robertson (conductor)

Bartok : The Wooden Prince (complete ballet)
New York Philharmonic
David Robertson (conductor)

Prokofiev : Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, op. 16
Yefim Bronffman : piano
New York Philharmonic
Alan Gilbert (conductor)

c. 1545
Rachmaninov : Symphony No. 2 in E minor, op. 27
New York Philharmonic
Alan Gilbert (conductor).

3 hours

Last on

Mon 11 Oct 2010 14:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert