Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Part 2

From St David's Hall, Cardiff, Petroc Trelawny presents the BBC National Orchestra of Wales in Rimsky-Korsakov's May Night Overture and Shostakovich's Symphony No 6.

Live from St David's Hall, Cardiff, Petroc Trelawny presents a concert of "Four Russian Moods"

This concert of Four Russian Moods ranges from the demonic fury and darkness of Mussorgsky's Night on a Bare Mountain, through Rimsky-Korsakov's fragrant evocation of 19th century Russia in May to the classical grace and elegance of Tchaikovsky's Rococo Variations.

And to end the concert, a work about which its composer Shostakovich wrote: 'My Sixth Symphony conveys the mood of spring, joy and life.' But with the terror under which the people of Stalin's Russia lived at this time, was Shostakovich being entirely honest about his intentions?

Rimsky-Korsakov: Overture, May Night
Shostakovich: Symphony No 6

Gautier Capu├žon (cello)
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Thierry Fischer (conductor).

1 hour, 10 minutes

Last on

Fri 17 Sep 2010 20:05

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Performance on 3