Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Missing Bits

Jez Nelson digs out unheard tracks from the Jazz On 3 vaults, including music from Jan Garbarek, David Murray, Kit Downes and Buffalo Collision.

Jez Nelson digs out unheard tracks from the Jazz On 3 vaults. This is one of our occasional programmes in which we dig through the archives to find quality tracks that hit the cutting room floor when we broadcast concerts for the first time. Includes music from the hugely influential Norwegian saxophonist Jan Garbarek; saxophonist David Murray with Guadeloupe's Gwo Ka Masters; Mercury Prize short-listed pianist Kit Downes' trio; and improv project Buffalo Collision, which puts pianist Ethan Iverson and drummer Dave King of The Bad Plus into the ring alongside saxophonist Tim Berne and cellist Hank Roberts.

Presenter: Jez Nelson
Producer: Peggy Sutton.

1 hour, 45 minutes

Last on

Mon 20 Sep 2010 23:15

Music Played

  • Kit Downes Trio recorded at the Cheltenham Jazz Festival on 1 May 2010

    • Untitled

      Line up: Kit Downes (piano), Calum Gourlay (bass), James Maddren (drums)

    • Kit Downes Trio


      Composer: Kit Downes

  • Django Bates’ Human Chain recorded at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club, London on 4 January 2010

    • Untitled

      Line up: Django Bates (keyboards and vocals), Marius Neset (tenor saxophone), Michael Mondesir (bass guitar), Martin France (drums)

    • Django Bates’ Human Chain

      Theme From New York, New York

      Composer: John Kander / Fred Ebb

  • Henri Texier Quartet recorded at Kings Place, London on 13 June 2009

    • Untitled

      Line up: Henri Texier (double bass), Sebastian Texier (reeds), Manu Codjia (guitar), Christophe Marguet (drums)

    • Henri Texier Quartet


      Composer: Henri Texier

    • Henri Texier Quartet

      Beautiful Love

      Composer: Wayne King / Victor Young / Egbert Van Alstyne / Haven Gillespie

  • Cleveland Watkiss recorded at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club, London on 4 January 2010

    • Untitled

      Line up: Cleveland Watkiss (vocals and electronics)

    • Cleveland Watkiss


  • Buffalo Collision recorded at The Vortex, London on 1 March 2010

    • Untitled

      Line up: Tim Berne (saxophone), Hank Roberts (cello), Ethan Iverson (piano), Dave King (drums)

    • Buffalo Collision


  • David Murray & The Gwo Ka Masters recorded at Bath Pavilion on 31 May 2010

    • Untitled

      Line up: David Murray (tenor saxophone and vocals), Rasul Siddik (trumpet), Marius Bonte (ka-drums and vocals), Francois Ladrezeau (ka-drums and vocals), Jaribu Shahid (bass),

    • Untitled

      Hervé Samb (guitar), Hamid Drake (drums)

    • David Murray

      Southern Skies

      Composer: music by David Murray, words by Grace Rutledge and Kito Gamble

  • Jan Garbarek Group recorded at the Barbican, London on 31 January 2010

    • Untitled

      Line up: Jan Garbarek (saxophone), Rainer Brüninghaus (piano), Yuri Daniel (bass), Trilok Gurtu (drums & percussion)

    • Jan Garbarek


      Composer: Jan Garbarek

    • Jan Garbarek Group


      Composer: Jan Garbarek

    • Jan Garbarek Group

      Solo bass improvisation

      Composer: Yuri Daniel

  • Alexander Hawkins Ensemble in session for Jazz on 3 recorded at Phoenix Studios on October 5, 2009

    • Untitled

      Line up: Alexander Hawkins (piano), Orphy Robinson (steel pans and electronics), Hannah Marshall (cello), Javier Carmona (drums), Dominic Lash (bass), Otto Fischer (guitar)

    • Alexander Hawkins Ensemble

      Love In Outer Space

      Composer: Sun Ra


Jazz Now

Jazz Now

The new home of contemporary jazz on BBC Radio 3