Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Nils Landgren, Sue Mingus

Julian Joseph presents highlights of a set by trombonist Nils Landgren played at Hamburg's Fabrik Concert Hall in 2009, as well as an interview with Charles Mingus's widow Sue.

Julian Joseph presents an interview with Sue Mingus, widow of bass legend Charles Mingus, plus highlights of a concert set by Swedish trombonist Nils Landgren. Nils was born in 1956 and began playing drums at the age of six. At the age of 13 he laid his hands on his first trombone beginning a lifelong journey of discovery and musical collaborations. Landgren has worked with a range of artists including the late pianist Esbjörn Svensson (e.s.t ), Thad Jones, The Crusaders, Eddie Harris, Bernard 'Pretty' Purdie, Herbie Hancock and even pop supergroup Abba! In May 2002, Nils was honoured with the 'Tore Ehrling-prize' by the Swedish Society Of Popular Composers for his "contribution to spread Swedish jazz music around the globe". Tonight's concert set is provide courtesy of the European Broadcasting Union and was recorded at Hamburg's Fabrik Concert Hall in 2009.

Since Charles Mingus's death in 1979, Sue Mingus continues to direct repertory ensembles to carry on the music of her late husband. This includes performances by the New York-based Mingus Big Band: Mingus Dynasty the original, seven-piece ensemble founded shortly after Mingus's death; and the Orchestra, a ten-piece ensemble that focuses on some of the lesser-known works in the composer's vast catalogue, and which features bassoon, French horn, bass clarinet and a guitar. In 1989, she produced Mingus's two-hour masterwork Epitaph for 31 musicians conducted by Gunther Schuller at Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall. Since 1993, Sue has produced seven Mingus Big Band recordings for the Dreyfus label, including Tonight at Noon (2002), The Essential Mingus Big Band (2001), Blues and Politics (1999), Que Viva Mingus (1997), Live in Time (1996), Gunslinging Birds (1995), and Nostalgia in Times Square (1993).She has also co-produced,with Seth Abramson, the latest Mingus Big Band recording 'Live At Jazz Standard' which features contributions from trumpeter Randy Brecker and drummer Jeff 'Tain' Watts.

1 hour, 15 minutes

Last on

Sun 12 Sep 2010 23:45

Music Played

  • Chris Bisco

    All The Things You Could Be By Now If Sigmund Freud's Wife Was Your Mother

    Performers: Chris Bisco (Alto Sax), Henry Lowther (Trumpet), Stu Butterfield & Paul Clarvis (Drums)

    • Profiles of Mingus.
    • Trio Records.
    • TR585.
  • Joe Zawinul

    Good Day

    Performers: Joe Zawinul (Keyboards), Kristjan Jarvi (Conductor), Absolute Ensemble

    • Absolute Ensemble.
    • Intuition.
    • INT 3456 2.
  • Tony Kofi

    Comin' On The Hudson

    Performers: Tony Kofi (Saxes), Winston Clifford (Drums), Ben Hazelton (Bass),

    • Plays Monk.
    • Specific Jazz.
    • SPEC 001.
  • Bill Charlap & Renee Rosnes - Chorinho

    Performers: Bill Charlap (Piano), Renee Rosnes (Piano)

  • Herbie Hancock

    The Song Goes On

    Performers: Herbie Hancock (Piano), K.S.Chitra & Chaka Khan (Vocals), Anoushka Shankar (Sitar), Wayne Shorter (Sax)

    • The Imagine Project.
    • Sony Music.
    • 886977 18992.
  • Robert Mitchell's Panacea


    Performers: Robert Mitchell (Piano), Deborah Jordan (Vocals), Tom Mason (Bass), Shaney Forbes (Drums), Hammadi Valdez (Percussion), Julian Ferraretto (Violin), Ben Davis (Cello), HKB Finn (Spoken Word)

    • The Cusp.
    • Edition Music.
    • EDN 1023.
  • Mingus Big Band

    Self Portrait in Three Colours

    Performers: Charles Mingus Big Band

    • Live at Jazz Standard.
    • Jazz Workshop Label.
    • n/a.
  • Mingus Big Band

    E's Flat, Ah's Flat Too

    Performers: Charles Mingus Big Band

    • Live at Jazz Standard.
    • Jazz Workshop Label.
    • n/a.
  • Mingus Big Band


    Performers: Charles Mingus Big Band

    • Live at Jazz Standard.
    • Jazz Workshop Label.
    • n/a.
  • Nils Landgren & The NDR Big Band

    Fat Albert Rotunda

    Composer: Herbie Hancock Arranger: Stefan Pfeifer European Broadcast Union Recording, Recorded on 3rd October 2009, at the Fabrik Club in Hamburg, Germany,

  • Wyatt/Atzmon/Stephen

    What A Wonderful World

    Performers: Robert Wyatt (Vocal), Gilad Atzmon (Sax), Ross Stephen (Violin), Sigamos String Quartet

    • For The Ghosts Within.
    • Domino.
    • WIGCD 263P.