Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Berlioz, Beethoven, MacMillan, Respighi - Part 2

Episode 2 of 2

From the Royal Albert Hall, London. Stephane Deneve conducts the Royal Scottish National Orchestra in MacMillan's Three Interludes (The Sacrifice) and Respighi's Pines of Rome.


Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Katie Derham

The Royal Scottish National Orchestra and its French-born Music Director, Stéphane Denève, are joined by Paul Lewis as he completes his cycle of the five Beethoven piano concertos with the last and most proudly majestic of them all.

Also featured are spectacular orchestral showpieces by Berlioz and Respighi, inspired respectively by Rome's lively street life and its imperial past; and cementing Celtic connections, the RSNO introduces a recent symphonic suite drawn from the Scottish composer James MacMillan's opera The Sacrifice, inspired by the medieval folk tales of The Mabinogion and premiered to great acclaim in 2007.

James MacMillan: The Sacrifice - Three Interludes (London premiere)
Respighi: Pines of Rome

Paul Lewis (piano)
Royal Scottish National Orchestra
Stéphane Denève (conductor).

1 hour

Last on

Mon 6 Sep 2010 20:15


The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

Every Proms concert is broadcast live on Radio 3 - don't miss a single one.