Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

The Minnesota Orchestra under Osmo Vanska. Barber: Music for a Scene from Shelley. Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No 1 (soloist - Alisa Weilerstein). Bruckner: Symphony No 4.

With Penny Gore.

The first of two Proms given by the Minnesota Orchestra from the United States led by their Chief Conductor Osmo Vanska. They begin with a rarely-heard work by a composer born 100 years ago, Samuel Barber - a cinematically imagined tone poem which he wrote as a young man after reading Shelley's 'Prometheus Unbound'. Shostakovich's 1st Cello Concerto - one of the most popular works in the cello repertoire but also one of the most difficult - is performed by young American cellist Alisa Weilerstein; and the concert ends with Bruckner's 4th Symphony, labelled 'Romantic' by the composer and inspired by tales of medieval romance. Presented by Rob Cowan.

Barber: Music for a Scene from Shelley
Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No.1 in E flat major
Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 in E flat major - "Romantic"

Alisa Weilerstein, cello
Minnesota Orchestra
Osmo Vanska, conductor

Followed by highlights of last year's City of London Festival, including:
Rachmaninov: I have grown fond; Vocalise
Daniela Lehner, mezzo-soprano
Jose Luis Gayo, piano.

2 hours, 40 minutes