Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Beethoven, Rachmaninov, Tchaikovsky - Part 2

Episode 2 of 2

Presented by Suzy Klein, from the Royal Albert Hall, London. Andrey Boreyko conducts the Russian National Orchestra in Tchaikovsky's Orchestral Suite No 3 in G, Op 55.

BBC Proms 2010

Live from the Royal Albert Hall

Presented by Suzy Klein

The Russian National Orchestra returns to the Proms in this its 20th anniversary year. After a dramatic overture by Beethoven, depicting the heroic Roman general Coriolanus, the orchestra focuses on music from its homeland. Rachmaninov is a composer close to the heart of tonight's soloist, Nikolai Lugansky, who performs the radiant and inventive piano variations on Paganini's theme. Tchaikovsky's orchestral suite was initially conceived as a symphony, but he found this form to be more flexible, and he also included a set of flamboyant variations at the end.

Tchaikovsky: Suite No. 3 in G major, Op. 55

Russian National Orchestra
Nikolai Lugansky (piano)
Andrey Boreyko (conductor)

This Prom will be repeated on Wednesday 1st September at 2.20pm.

1 hour, 15 minutes

Last on

Wed 18 Aug 2010 20:30


The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

Every Proms concert is broadcast live on Radio 3 - don't miss a single one.