Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

PCM 05 - Julia Fischer, Milana Chernyavska

From Cadogan Hall, London. Catherine Bott presents a violin recital given by Julia Fischer, with Milana Chernyavska (piano). Ysaye: Sonata No 1 in G minor. Franck: Sonata in A.

BBC Proms 2010

Live from Cadogan Hall, London

Presented by Catherine Bott

Following her Proms performance of Shostakovich's 1st Concerto last night, violinist Julia Fischer plays a more intimate concert of chamber works. Her recital starts with the technically demanding but intensely expressive first solo sonata by Belgian virtuoso Eugène Ysaÿe, and then she is joined by regular chamber partner Milana Chernyavska to perform the large-scale and Romantically turbulent sonata by César Franck.

Ysaÿe: Sonata No. 1 in G minor for solo violin
Franck: Sonata in A major for violin and piano

Julia Fischer (violin)
Milana Chernyavska (piano)

This Prom is repeated on Saturday 21st August at 2pm.

1 hour


  • Mon 16 Aug 2010 13:00
  • Sat 21 Aug 2010 14:00

The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

Every Proms concert is broadcast live on Radio 3 - don't miss a single one.