Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

05/08/2010 O Duo Stephen Montague, Topi Lehtipuu, Khyam Allami

Sean Rafferty talks to percussion ensemble O Duo, composer Stephen Montague, tenor Topi Lehtipuu and soprano Miah Persson. With music from Khyam Allami and Ilham Al Madfali.

Sean Rafferty interviews percussionists Owen Gunnell and Oliver Cox who perform together as O Duo and composer Stephen Montague. O Duo will be performing in Prom 30 which also features the world premiere of Stephen Montague's new work 'Wilful Chants'.

Oud player Khyam Allami and guitarist and vocalist Ilham Al Madfai will be performing live in the studio ahead of the World Routes Academy Prom 33.

Tenor Topi Lehtipuu and soprano Miah Persson talk to Sean about the upcoming Glyndebourne production of Stravinsky's The Rake's Progress, a revival of the 1975 festival production.

Presented by Sean Rafferty.
Main news headlines are at 5.00 and 6.00

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Carl Orff

    Ave, formosissima & O Fortuna from Carmina Burana

    Performer: Toelzer Knabenchor Performer: Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks Performer: Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks Performer: Daniel Harding, conductor

    • DG – 477 9778.
  • Georges Bizet

    Carmen Variations (after Vladimir Horowitz 1968 version)

    Performer: Arcadi Volodos, piano

    • SONY – SK 62691.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Praeludium & Corrente from Partita No. 1

    Performer: O Duo (Owen Gunnell & Oliver Cox) marimbas

    • SONY – 88697027202.
  • Stephen Monatgue

    Wilful Chants, excerpt from rehearsal

    Performer: BBC Symphony Chorus Performer: Soloists from Trinity College of Music Performer: Chamber Choir Performer: London Brass Performer: Stephen Jackson (conductor)

    • BBC Recording of rehearsal.
  • Minoru Miki

    Marimba Spiritual

    Performer: O Duo (Owen Gunnell & Oliver Cox) marimbas & percussion

    • SONY – 88697027202.
  • Vincent d’Indy

    Choral varié (pour Saxophone solo et Orchestre), Op. 55

    Performer: Sigurdur Flosason, saxophone Performer: Iceland Symphony Orchestra Performer: Rumon Gamba, conductor

    • CHANDOS – CHAN 10585.
  • Jan Dismas Zelenka

    Magnificat anima mea Dominum from Magnificat in D major, ZWV 108

    Performer: Miah Persson, soprano Performer: Bach Collegium Japan Performer: Masaaki Suzuki, conductor

    • BIS – CD-1011.
  • Enrique Granados

    Danza Espanola No. 10. Melancolica, DLR I:2.10.

    Performer: Douglas Riva (piano)

    • Naxos 8.572313.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    The yellow-hair'd laddie

    Performer: from Sechs schottische National-Lieder or Scottish Songs Performer: Hannah Morrison, soprano Performer: James Rutherford, baritone Performer: Eugene Asti, piano

    • HYPERION – CDA67753.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Exsultate, jubilate and Alleluja.

    Performer: Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment Performer: Danielle De Niese Performer: Sir Charles Mackerras

    • Decca 478 2417.
  • LIVE

    • Ilham al-Madfai


      Performer: Ilham Al Madfai (guitar and voice)

    • Khyam Allami

      Taqsim or improvisation

      Performer: Khyam Allami (oud)

  • Ilham al-Madfai

    Foug Al Nakhal

    Performer: Ilham Al Madfai Performer: Khyam Allami

    • BBC Recording for World Routes.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Adagio and Fugue in C minor, K546

    Performer: London Chamber Orchestra Performer: Christopher Warren-Green, conductor

    • SIGNUM – SIGCD201.
  • William Byrd

    Gloria from Mass for five voices

    Performer: The Choir of Westminster Abbey Performer: James O’Donnell, conductor

    • HYPERION – CDA67770.
  • Igor Stravinsky

    Prelude & Duet and Trio 'The woods are green' from The Rake's Progress

    Performer: Ian Bostridge, tenor – Tom Rakewell Performer: Deborah York, soprano – Anne Trulove Performer: Martin Robson, bass - Trulove Performer: London Symphony Orchestra Performer: John Eliott Gardiner, conductor

    • DG – 459 648-2.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Lascia ch'io pianga from Rinaldo

    Performer: Miah Persson, soprano - Almirena Performer: Freiburger Barockorchester Performer: Renée Jacobs, conductor

    • HARMONIA MUNDI – HMC 901796.98.
  • Igor Stravinsky

    The Rake's Progress, Act 3 Scene 3, 'In A Foolish Dream' Duet

    Performer: Ian Bostridge Performer: Deborah York Performer: The Monteverdi Choir

    • London Symphony Orchestra.
  • Claudio Monteverdi

    Et e pur dunque vero from Scherzi musicali, 1632

    Performer: Topi Lehtipuu, tenor Performer: Le Concert D’Astrée Performer: Emmanuelle Haim, director

    • VIRGIN CLASSICS – 0946 3 63350 2.
  • Sergey Rachmaninov


    Performer: Maxim Vengerov (violin) Performer: Vag Papian (piano)

    • EMI Classics 7243 5 5716422.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios