Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Mozart, Ligeti, Ravel - Part 1

Episode 1 of 2

Jonathan Nott conducts the BBC Symphony Orchestra and pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard in music by Mozart, Ligeti and Benjamin.


Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Penny Gore

The BBC Symphony Orchestra and Jonathan Nott present a typically wide-ranging programme placing contemporary works alongside classics of the repertoire and ending with three glittering showpieces by Ravel.
Pierre Laurent Aimard plays an adventurous solo piece by Ligeti and concertos by Mozart and George Benjamin - the latter an exploration of the contrasting and complementary sounds that the piano and orchestra can make.

Mozart: Piano Concerto No 27 in B flat, K595
Ligeti: Musica ricercata - No 2: Mesto, rigido e ceremoniale
George Benjamin: Duet (London premiere)

Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Jonathan Nott, conductor

This Prom will be repeated on Friday 6th August at 2pm.

55 minutes

Last on

Mon 2 Aug 2010 19:30

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from BBC Proms


The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

Every Proms concert is broadcast live on Radio 3 - don't miss a single one.