Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Pavel Haas Quartet, Khatia Buniatishvili

From Wigmore Hall, London, Pavel Haas Quartet and Khatia Buniatishvili (piano). Haydn: String Quartet in D minor (Fifths). Shostakovich: Piano Quintet in G minor, Op 57.

Former Radio 3 New Generation Artists The Pavel Haas Quartet join with current member of the scheme pianist Khatia Buniatishvili for a performance of Shostakovich's coruscating mid-period Piano Quintet, which helped to establish his reputation outside the Soviet Union.

Before that, the quartet performs Haydn's "Fifths" Quartet which also has the nickname the "Witches' Minuet".

Fiona Talkington presents live from Wigmore Hall.

Haydn String Quartet in D minor Op. 76 No. 2 'Fifths'

Shostakovich Piano Quintet in G minor Op. 57

Pavel Haas Quartet
Khatia Buniatishvili piano.

1 hour