Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available


Two works by French composer Henri Dutilleux: Three Preludes for solo piano from 1973-1988 (soloist - Robert Levin); The Shadows of Time. Boston Symphony Orchestra/Seiji Ozawa.

Time, Shadow and Silence - elements that suffuse the the music of French composer Henri Dutilleux, now in his 90s. He has, arguably, been eclipsed in the public's awareness by the work of his compatriot and near-contemporary, Olivier Messiaen. Yet Dutilleux has always worked meticulously and steadily, creating a huge body of works which are now emerging and being feted as the products of a deeply musical and fastidious philosophical mind. Pre Hear presents two works from the past 45 years: Three Preludes for solo piano from 1973 - 1988 (played by Robert Levin, piano); and The Shadows of Time (1995-97), for orchestra and children's voices, written for Seiji Ozawa and the Boston Symphony who perform it here.

45 minutes

Last on

Sat 19 Jun 2010 21:45