Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Ulster Orchestra, Pascal Rophe

Pascal Rophe conducts the Ulster Orchestra. Liszt: Les Preludes. Ravel: Piano Concerto in G (soloist - Pascal Roge). Faure: Pelleas et Melisande Suite. Sibelius: Symphony No 7.

Presented by Catherine Bott.

'What else is our life but a series of Préludes to that unknown hymn, the first solemn note of which is sounded by Death', says the preface to the score of Liszt's third symphonic poem, Les Préludes. Pascal Rogé is a renowned interpreter of French music and joins the Ulster Orchestra in Ravel's jazz infused piano concerto. The story of Pelléas and Mélisande has inspired many composers including Ravel's teacher Gabriel Fauré, who wrote incidental music to the play in 1898. Sibelius' final statement in symphonic form was his one-movement 7th Symphony. It has been described as his 'most remarkable compositional achievement'.

Liszt: Les Préludes
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G
Fauré: Pelléas and Mélisande
Sibelius: Symphony No 7

Pascal Rogé (piano)
Ulster Orchestra
Pascal Rophé (conductor)


All this week Afternoon on 3 has been broadcasting the winning entries in the category finals of BBC Young Musician 2010 ahead of the Grand Final at Cardiff's Wales Millennium Centre on Sunday. Tonight we hear the winning entry in the Percussion category.

2 hours, 15 minutes