Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

The Britten Sinfonia in original music and arrangements of Bach, Ockeghem and Machaut, plus Christian Mason and his mentor Harrison Birtwistle. With Bach: The Art of Fugue (excpts).

The first of four concerts from the 2009-2010 Britten Sinfonia at Lunch series from the West Road Concert Hall in Cambridge. This innovative series, which tours five different cities, including Krakow in Poland, was the winner of an RPS Chamber Music Award, and features an eclectic mix of familiar and unfamiliar pieces, alongside a new commission from a young composer. In this first concert, composer Christian Mason is paired with music by his mentor, Sir Harrison Birtwistle, of original music and arrangements of Bach, Ockeghem and Machaut.

Machaut (arr. Birtwistle) Hoquetus David
Birtwistle: Double Hocket
JS Bach: (arr Birtwistle) Contrapunctus VII from The Art of Fugue
Birtwistle: Lied
JS Bach: (arr. Birtwistle) Contrapunctus XII from The Art of Fugue
Birtwistle: Verses for clarinet and piano
JS Bach: (arr. Birtwistle) Contrapunctus XVII from The Art of Fugue
Christian Mason: Noctilucence (World premiere tour)
Ockeghem: (arr. Birtwistle) Ut heremita solus

Britten Sinfonia performers:

Jacqueline Shave, Miranda Dale (violin)
Martin Outram (viola)
Caroline Dearnley (cello)
Michael Cox (flute)
Joy Farrell (clarinet)
Huw Watkins (piano)
Helen Edordu (percussion).

1 hour

Last on

Tue 4 May 2010 13:00