Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Cartoon Maps - Politics and Satire

Episode 4 of 4

The series concludes by delving into the world of satirical maps. How did maps take on a new form as devices for humour, satire or storytelling?

The series concludes by delving into the world of satirical maps. How did maps take on a new form, not as geographical tools, but as devices for humour, satire or storytelling?

Graphic artist Fred Rose perfectly captured the public mood in 1880 with his general election maps featuring Gladstone and Disraeli, using the maps to comment upon crucial election issues still familiar to us today. Technology was on the satirist's side, with the advent of high-speed printing allowing for larger runs at lower cost. In 1877, when Rose produced his Serio Comic Map of Europe at War, maps began to take on a new direction and form, reflecting a changing world.

Rose's map exploited these possibilities to the full using a combination of creatures and human figures to represent each European nation. The personification of Russia as a grotesque-looking octopus, extending its tentacles around the surrounding nations, perfectly symbolised the threat the country posed to its neighbours.

30 minutes

Last on

Mon 15 Aug 2011 22:30

More episodes

Next

You are at the last episode

See all episodes from The Beauty of Maps

Credits

Role Contributor
Director Steven Clarke
Producer Steven Clarke
Executive Producer Harry Bell

Broadcasts

  • Thu 22 Apr 2010 20:30
  • Fri 23 Apr 2010 00:25
  • Fri 23 Apr 2010 01:30
  • Fri 30 Apr 2010 19:00
  • Sun 2 May 2010 19:30
  • Fri 22 Oct 2010 20:00
  • Sun 24 Oct 2010 19:30
  • Tue 1 Feb 2011 19:30
  • Wed 2 Feb 2011 01:00
  • Tue 31 May 2011 00:30
  • Wed 1 Jun 2011 01:30
  • Fri 3 Jun 2011 00:20
  • Wed 13 Jul 2011 19:30
  • Thu 11 Aug 2011 23:00
  • Mon 15 Aug 2011 22:30