Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Medieval Maps - Mapping the Medieval Mind

Episode 1 of 4

Documentary series. The Hereford Mappa Mundi is the largest intact Medieval wall map, giving a unique insight into the Medieval mind.

Documentary series charting the visual appeal and historical meaning of maps.

The Hereford Mappa Mundi is the largest intact Medieval wall map in the world and its ambition is breathtaking - to picture all of human knowledge in a single image. The work of a team of artists, the world it portrays is overflowing with life, featuring Classical and Biblical history, contemporary buildings and events, animals and plants from across the globe, and the infamous 'monstrous races' which were believed to inhabit the remotest corners of the Earth.

The Mappa Mundi, meaning 'cloth of the world', has spent most of its long life at Hereford Cathedral, rarely emerging from behind its glass case. The programme represents a rare opportunity to get close to the map and explore its detail, giving a unique insight into the Medieval mind. This is also the first programme to show the map in its original glory, revealing the results of a remarkable year-long project by the Folio Society to restore it using the latest digital technology.

The map has a chequered history. Since its glory days in the 1300s it has languished forgotten in storerooms, been dismissed as a curious 'monstrosity', and controversially almost sold. Only in the last 20 years have scholars and artists realised its true depth and meaning, with the map exerting an extraordinary power over those who come into contact with it. The programme meets some of these individuals, from scholars and map lovers to Turner Prize-winning artist Grayson Perry, whose own work, the Map of Nowhere, is inspired by the Mappa Mundi.

30 minutes

Last on

Sat 29 Oct 2011 18:10

More episodes

Previous

You are at the first episode

See all episodes from The Beauty of Maps

Credits

Role Contributor
Director Steven Clarke
Producer Steven Clarke
Executive Producer Harry Bell

Broadcasts

  • Mon 19 Apr 2010 20:30
  • Mon 19 Apr 2010 23:30
  • Fri 23 Apr 2010 02:25
  • Sun 25 Apr 2010 20:00
  • Mon 26 Apr 2010 19:00
  • Wed 9 Jun 2010 19:00
  • Fri 11 Jun 2010 20:00
  • Sun 3 Oct 2010 19:30
  • Thu 7 Oct 2010 20:00
  • Thu 7 Oct 2010 23:00
  • Tue 11 Jan 2011 19:30
  • Mon 9 May 2011 22:00
  • Wed 22 Jun 2011 19:30
  • Thu 23 Jun 2011 02:25
  • Mon 1 Aug 2011 22:00
  • Sun 18 Sep 2011 23:30
  • Wed 21 Sep 2011 23:00
  • Sat 22 Oct 2011 20:00
  • Thu 27 Oct 2011 22:00
  • Sat 29 Oct 2011 18:10