Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC SSO/Alexander Titov, part 2

Live from City Halls, Glasgow, the conclusion of a concert given by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra conducted by Alexander Titov. Rachmaninov: Symphony No 1.

Presented by Martin Handley

In this live concert from City Halls, Glasgow, the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra plays works from Russia and America. The least well-known of Rachmaninov's symphonies, the First is an incredibly powerful work, bursting with youthful energy. Its premiere, when Rachmaninov was only 24, was famously a disaster and it was never again performed in his lifetime.

Born in Hungary, Miklós Rózsa wrote many classical works but went to Hollywood in 1939 to work on film scores, and is probably best known for his blockbusters like Ben-Hur and El Cid. His Viola concerto is one of his final works, written in 1979 for the young Pinchas Zukerman. The concert opens with an introduction and interlude from Rimsky-Korsakov's opera which combines the real and the supernatural, history and myth.

Rimsky-Korsakov: The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh (excerpts)
Rozsa: Viola Concerto


Rachmaninov: Symphony No.1

Lawrence Power (viola )
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Alexander Titov (conductor).

1 hour, 10 minutes

Last on

Thu 15 Apr 2010 20:05