Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Penny Gore presents the BBC Singers performing at the Pays de Hanau Festival in France and the BBC Symphony Orchestra in Shostakovich's Violin Concerto, with soloist Sarah Chang.

Today's programme, celebrating the work of the BBC Singers and Symphony Orchestra includes a concert given by the BBC Singers at the Pays de Hanau Festival in France. And the BBC Symphony Orchestra perform Shostakovich's Violin Concerto with soloist Sarah Chang.

Presented by Penny Gore

Timothy Jackson: No Answer
BBC Singers
Onyx Brass
Stephen Disley (organ)
Nicholas Cleobury (conductor)

Richard Peat: Fiery the Angels (first performance)
Onyx Brass

Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor
Sarah Chang (violin)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Vassily Sinaisky (conductor)

Finzi: Dies Natalis
Susan Gritton (soprano)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Edward Gardner (conductor)

Delius: A Late Lark
Susan Gritton (soprano)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Edward Gardner (conductor)

Bach: Komm, Jesu, Komm!, BWV.229
Vaughan Williams: Mass in G minor
Purcell: Hear my Prayer, Z.15
Chilcott: My Prayer
Holst: Nunc Dimittis
Sanstrom: Lobet den Herrn
Mendelssohn: Die Deutsche Liturgie
Daniel-Lesur: Le Cantique des Cantiques
BBC Singers
David Hill (conductor).

3 hours

Last on

Mon 12 Apr 2010 14:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert