Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 4

From Manchester, three BBC New Generation Artists and the BBC Philharmonic under Richard Davis in Falla, Weinberg and Mozart. Plus the BBC CO in Boccherini, Grieg and German.

Live from Manchester, the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra presents concertos featuring members of the Radio 3 New Generation Artists scheme: trumpeter Giuliano Sommerhalder and pianist Francesco Piemontesi. Presented by Ian Skelly.
Penny Gore rounds the afternoon off with more from the BBC Concert Orchestra, including music by Boccherini, Grieg, and a delightful rarely heard symphony by Edward German.

BBC Philharmonic Orchestra
Richard Davis (conductor)

Falla: El amor brujo
Wendy Dawn Thompson (mezzo-soprano)

Weinberg: Trumpet Concerto in B flat, Op.94
Giuliano Sommerhalder (trumpet)

Mozart: Piano Concerto no. 14 in E flat, K.449
Francesco Piemontesi (piano)

Boccherini: Symphony no. 4 "La Casa del Diavolo"
Grieg: Peer Gynt - suite no.2
BBC Concert Orchestra
Eivind Aadland (conductor)

Edward German: Symphony no. 2 in A minor "Norwich"
BBC Concert Orchestra
John Wilson (conductor).

3 hours

Last on

Thu 18 Mar 2010 14:00


  • Thu 18 Mar 2010 14:00