Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available


Chi-chi Nwanoku introduces a selection of listeners' requests including Angela Gheorghiu as Madam Butterfly with Jonas Kaufman as Pinkerton, choral music by Richard Strauss and a symphony by Mozart's father Leopold.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Nunc Dimittis from All Night Vigil

    Performer: Corydon Singers Performer: Matthew Best (conductor)

    • Hyperion CDA 66460.
    • 5.
  • Johannes Brahms

    3rd movement, Symphony no 3

    Performer: Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra Performer: Colin Davis (conductor)

    • RCA Victor Seal RD 60118.
    • 3.
  • Giacomo Puccini

    End of Act 1, Madam Butterfly Bimba non piangere…..vogliatemi bene

    Performer: Angela Gheorghiu (soprano) Performer: Enkelejda Shkosa (mezzo soprano) Performer: Jonas Kaufmann (tenor) Performer: Antonio Pappano (conductor)

    • EMI 4 562152.
    • 14 to 17.
  • Ottorino Respighi

    Fontane di Roma

    Performer: The Philharmonia Performer: Yan Pascal Tortelier (conductor)

    • Chandos Chan 8989.
    • 1 to 4.
  • Richard Strauss

    Deutsches Motette

    Performer: Latvian Radio Choir Performer: Accentus Performer: Laurence Equilbey (conductor)

    • Naïve V 5194.
    • 1.
  • Zoltán Kodály

    Dances of Galanta

    Performer: Budapest Festival Orchestra Performer: Ivan Fischer (conductor)

    • Philips 4628242.
    • 1.
  • Johann Georg Leopold Mozart - Toy Symphony

    Performer: Toronto Chamber Orchestra Performer: Kevin Mallon (conductor)

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Septet In E flat Op 20 Andante con moto alla Marcia - Presto

    Performer: Jeremy Ward (Bassoon) Performer: Antony Pay (Clarinet) Performer: Anthony Halstead (French Horn) Performer: Monica Huggett (Violin) Performer: Roger Chase (Viola) Performer: Richard Lester (Cello) Performer: Chi-Chi Nwanoku (Double Bass)

    • EMI 077775465624.
    • 10.
  • Antonio Vivaldi


    Performer: Giuliano Carmignola (baroque violin) Performer: Venice Baroque Orchestra Performer: Andrea Marcon (harpsichord & director)

    • Sony Classical SK 51352.
    • 7 to 9.