Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Thursday - Rob Cowan

Breakfast on Radio 3 with Rob Cowan. Great pieces, great performances - and a few surprises!

3 hours

Last on

Thu 4 Feb 2010 07:00

Music Played

  • Edward Elgar

    La Capricieuse, Op.17

    Arranger: Heifetz Performer: Itzhak Perlman (violin) Performer: Samuel Sanders (piano)

    • EMI CDC 7 49604 2.
  • Bedrich Smetana

    Dance of the Comedians from The Bartered Bride

    Performer: Academy of Saint Martin-in-the-Fields Performer: Sir Neville Marriner (conductor)

    • PHILIPS 422 959-2.
  • Juan de Araujo

    ¡A, de la región de luces! (O denizens of the region of light!)

    Performer: Ex Cathedra Consort & Baroque Ensemble Performer: Jeffrey Skidmore (conductor)

    • HYPERION CDA67600.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Sarabande from Suite for keyboard no.4 in E minor

    Performer: Sophie Yates (harpsichord)

    • CHACONNE CHAN 0669.
  • Carl Maria von Weber

    Turandot: Overture and Act II March, J.75

    Performer: New Zealand Symphony Orchestra Performer: Antoni Wit (conductor)

    • NAXOS 8.570296.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Duet: Ich wollt' meine Lieb' ergösse sich (I want to declare my love to you), Op.63 No.1

    Performer: Sophie Daneman (soprano) Performer: Nathan Berg (baritone) Performer: Eugene Asti (piano)

    • HYPERION CDA66906.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Duet: Gruss (Greeting), Op.63 No.3

    Performer: Sophie Daneman (soprano) Performer: Nathan Berg (baritone) Performer: Eugene Asti (piano)

    • HYPERION CDA66906.
  • Antonio Vivaldi

    Concerto for strings in A major, RV.158

    Performer: Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra Performer: Jeanne Lamon (conductor)

    • ANALEKTA FL 2 3171.
  • Camille Saint‐Saëns

    Odelette, Op.162 (vers. for flute and piano)

    Performer: William Bennett (flute) Performer: Clifford Benson (piano)

    • CALA CACD 1017.
  • Paul Hindemith

    Turandot (Scherzo) from Symphonic Metamorphosis on Themes of Carl Maria von Weber

    Performer: The Cleveland Orchestra Performer: Christoph von Dohnányi (conductor)

  • Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Danse des mirlitons (dance of the reed pipes) from The Nutcracker suite

    Performer: Berlin Philharmonic Performer: Mstislav Rostropovich (conductor)

    • DEUTSCHE GRAMMOPHON 449 726-2.
  • Robert Schumann

    Adagio and Allegro in A major, Op.70

    Performer: Daniil Shafran (cello) Performer: Anton Ginsburg (piano)

    • AULOS MUSIC AMC2 013.
  • William Walton

    Magnificat from the Chichester Service

    Performer: Polyphony Performer: James Vivian (organ) Performer: Stephen Layton (conductor)

    • HYPERION CDA67330.
  • Gustav Holst

    A Fugal Concerto

    Performer: Ruth Bolister (oboe) Performer: Kate Hill (flute) Performer: Elgar Chamber Orchestra Performer: Stephen Bell (conductor)

    • ASV CD DCA 1173.
  • Carlos Guastavino

    Mi viña de Chapanay (Vine of Chapanay)

    Performer: Bernarda Fink (mezzo-soprano) Performer: Carmen Piazzini (piano)

    • HARMONIA MUNDI HMC 901892.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Concerto Grosso (Op.6 No.5) in D major

    Performer: Academy of Saint Martin in the Fields Performer: Iona Brown (director)

    • PHILIPS 476 5312.
  • Richard Strauss

    Scherzo – Trio from String Quartet in A major, Op.2

    Performer: The Delmé String Quartet

    • HYPERION CDA66317.
  • Aram Khachaturian

    Allegro vivace from Violin concerto in D minor

    Performer: Valery Klimov (violin) Performer: The USSR Academic Symphony Orchestra Performer: Yevgeny Svetlanov (conductor)

    • OLYMPIA OCD 135.
  • Johann Friedrich Doles

    Wer bin ich, Herr?

    Performer: Vocal Concert Dresden Performer: Dresden Instrumental Concert Performer: Peter Kopp (conductor)

    • CARUS 83.263.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Wachet aur, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV.645

    Arranger: Busoni Performer: Murray Perahia (piano)

    • SONY CLASSICAL SK 66511.
  • Granville Bantock

    Pierrot of the Minute

    Performer: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Performer: Vernon Handley (conductor)

    • HYPERION CDA67395.
  • Robert Schumann

    Langsam & Nicht schnell, mit viel Ton zu spielen from 5 Stücke im Volkston, Op.102

    Performer: Paul Meyer (clarinet) Performer: Eric Le Sage (piano)

    • DENON CO-75960.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Le Tombeau de Couperin

    Performer: Boston Symphony Orchestra Performer: Seiji Ozawa (conductor)



Carol Competition 2019

Carol Competition 2019

Here's everything you need to know about our competition for amateur composers.

Wake up your brain cells with our morning music quiz

Wake up your brain cells with our morning music quiz

How many of these rousing music questions can you answer?

Five simple steps for morning mindfulness

Five simple steps for morning mindfulness

How listening to R3 Breakfast can reduce stress, aid mindfulness and cure morning breath.

Sounds of the Earth

Sounds of the Earth

In this Weekend Breakfast feature, we hear the natural world in its many guises.

Chilled – five great Russian winter pieces you’ve mostly never heard of …

Chilled –  five great Russian winter pieces you’ve mostly never heard of …

The BBC's Steve Rosenberg (a handy pianist) chips the ice off favourite classical scores.

Get singing: The Pankhurst Anthem

Get singing: The Pankhurst Anthem

We're inviting singers to mark 100 years of UK women's suffrage with a new choral work.