Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Presented by Petroc Trelawny. In the conclusion of a live concert from the Ulster Hall, Belfast, Takuo Yuasa conducts the Ulster Orchestra in Tchaikovsky's elfin Symphony No 1.

Presented by Petroc Trelawny
Takuo Yuasa conducts the Ulster Orchestra in The Walk to Paradise Garden by Delius and Tchaikovsky's First Symphony. They're joined by soprano Elizabeth Watts in Nuits d'été by Berlioz.
The world of Shakespeare hovers behind this concert live from the Ulster hall, Belfast. Walk to Paradise Garden is an orchestral interlude from the opera A Village Romeo und Juliet by Delius, the story of which is based on Shakespeare's famous story. Hector Berlioz had a passion for the works of Shakespeare, and the title Les nuits d'été is a nod in the direction of A Midsummer Night's Dream, though the work is setting of poems of romantic longing - La Comédie de la mort - by the high romantic poet Théophile Gautier. Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 1 is titled Winter Dreams, and although totally original, the elfin mood of the scherzo might have stepped out of Mendelssohn's Midsummer Night's Dream.

Delius: The Walk to Paradise Garden
Berlioz: Nuits d'été
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No.1
Elizabeth Watts soprano
Takuo Yuasa conductor
Ulster Orchestra.

1 hour, 10 minutes

Last on

Fri 22 Jan 2010 20:05

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Performance on 3