Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Scottish Chamber Orchestra/Charles Mackerras

Presented by Petroc Trelawny. Scottish Chamber Orchestra/Charles Mackerras. Mozart: Symphony No 35 in D (Haffner). Strauss: Horn Concerto No 1; Le Bourgeois gentilhomme.

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Sir Charles Mackerras conducts the Scottish Chamber Orchestra in Mozart's "Haffner" Symphony and Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme by Strauss.
Mozart wrote the "Haffner" Symphony rather unwillingly for a merchant in his home town of Salzburg, where it was first performed. Looking at it again before performing it in Vienna, he was surprised by the quality of the music he had written in great haste. "My new Haffner Symphony has positively amazed me, for I had forgotten every note of it," he wrote to his father. "It must surely make a splendid effect."
A splendid effect is precisely what Strauss aimed for in his first Horn Concerto, while his music for Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme began life as incidental music to Molière's play of the same name . It is a sparkling score paying homage to Jean-Baptiste Lully, who wrote the original music for the Molière play.

Mozart Symphony No 35 in D major, K385 'Haffner'
Strauss: Horn Concerto No 1
Strauss: Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme
Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Sir Charles Mackerras, conductor
Radovan Vlatkovic, horn


Hamilton Harty: Londonderry Air
Ulster Orchestra
Bryden Thomson (conductor)
CHAN5625 Tr 1

Bax: In the Faery Hills
Ulster Orchestra
Bryden Thomson (conductor)
CHAN5625 Tr 6

Followed by Part 2 of a celebratory concert with the Ulster Orchestra from the Waterfront Hall, Belfast, in which Seamus Heaney and Michael Longley read their poetry.

Ulster Orchestra
Proinnsias O’Duinn (conductor)

Michael Longley: Pamela; Cloud Orchid
Seamus Heaney: The Strand at Lough Beg

Mendelssohn: Hebrides Overture

Michael Longley: On the Shetlands
Seamus Heaney: Ballynahinch Lake

Sibelius: Symphony No 5 (final movement)

2 hours, 15 minutes

Last on

Tue 19 Jan 2010 19:00