Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 1

John Shea celebrates the riches and diversity of 2009's musical summer, with visits to more than 30 European festivals. 1/9. Featuring music from Finland, Norway, Czech Republic.

John Shea features music from Finland, Norway and the Czech Republic.

Bach, arr. Marcel Dupre: Sinfonia (Cantata No 46: Wir muessen durch viel Truebsal, BWV146)
Vincent Dubois (organ)

Mendelssohn: String Quartet No 6 in F minor, Op 80
Beethoven: String Quartet in C minor, Op 18 No 4

Vierne: Scherzo and Finale (Organ Symphony No 6 in B minor)
Vincent Dubois (organ)

Bach: Sinfonia (Cantata No 12: Weinen, klagen, sorgen, zagen, BWV12)
Concerto Copenhagen

Bach: Cantata No 54 (Widerstehe doch der Suende)
Anne Sofie von Otter (mezzo-soprano)
Concerto Copenhagen

Bach: Cantata No 35 (Geist und Seele wird verwirret)
Anne Sofie von Otter (mezzo-soprano)
Concerto Copenhagen

Beethoven: Diabelli Variations, Op 120
Paul Lewis (piano)

Mendelssohn: Three Psalms, Op 78
Latvia State Chorus
Jaap Ter Linden (conductor)

Martinu: Field Mass
Ivan Kusnjer (baritone)
Kuhn Mixed Chorus
Czech Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra, Pardubice
Marko Ivanovic (conductor)

Dvorak: Serenade for Winds, Op 44
Members of the Prague Philharmonia
Jiri Belohlavek (conductor).

4 hours

Last on

Mon 28 Dec 2009 13:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert