Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 1

Presented by Penny Gore. Britten: Simple Symphony. Elgar: There is sweet music. Vaughan Williams: Symphony No 5. Bantock: To the Muses. Elgar: Violin Concerto in B minor.

Penny Gore presents great concertos and symphonies from the 20th century, including English masterpieces from Elgar, Vaughan Williams and Walton. Plus choral music from the BBC Singers.

Britten: Simple Symphony, Op 4
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Damian Iorio (conductor)

Elgar: There is sweet music
BBC Singers
Paul Brough (conductor)

Vaughan Williams: Symphony No 5
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Paul Daniel (conductor)

Bantock: To the Muses; To the Evening Star
BBC Singers
Paul Brough (conductor)

Elgar: Violin Concerto in B minor, Op 61
James Ehnes (violin)
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
David Atherton (conductor)

Delius: To be sung of a midsummer night on the water
BBC Singers
Paul Brough (conductor)

Walton: Symphony No 1 in B flat minor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Vassily Sinaisky (conductor).

3 hours

Last on

Mon 23 Nov 2009 14:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert